Putting Your Kids On Facebook

For all the none biking stuff. Say hello, chew the fat or flame the forum.
Blade
Your Bike: Kawasaki ZX10R

Putting Your Kids On Facebook

Post by Blade »

Need some advice as I have no experience on this subject and just wondered is it safe and what the risks are.

My wife works for a marketing company and one of their clients want to use some children on their company Facebook page.

They want to get some shots of kids as part of their Easter advertising.

For one reason or another rather than use a child modelling agency my wife has been asked could they use our kids.

They have offered compensation in the form of cash or an Xbox which the kids actually want and we were going to get for their birthday but payment is not my concern its the child's safety.

I guess things would have company security and protection in place and obviously we would disclose no personal data.

Should I do this ? Is it a bit of harmless fun my kids will enjoy and receive something for their trouble or should I be caution and decline.

All advice welcome. As I say I have no experience of this and being an old dinosaur I'm not even on Facebook.
kiwikrasher
Your Bike: ‘16 Thruxton R. '10 Multistrada 1200 S.

Re: Putting Your Kids On Facebook

Post by kiwikrasher »

I'm not on Facebook either Blade, my wife is but photos of the kids can only be seen by her friends, not public. I was always very protective of the kids images online. But now they are at school they have online newsletters and such that they can (and have) appeared in and I have soften enough to be OK with that. I wouldn't want family/personal shots of my kids open to public domain, but I think I'd be happy with professional commercial type pictures being used in the way you describe. Like you say it won't jepodise their safety and it'll be a bit of fun and excitement for them. Plus who can sneeze at a free xbox!