Wet weather KIt

The news and your views about biking
fidget
Your Bike: Ktm 990 superduke R and zx10r

Wet weather KIt

Post by fidget »

Well it would seem my waterproof kit no longer is ;(

I've been using Bering kit for a good 15 years now and it's been great. Warm, dry and uncumbersome. I do however appreciate that technology and materials have changed so was wondering what you folks are using and would and wouldn't recommend?
Never rub another mans rhubarb.
Kwacky
Your Bike: Brutale 800RR, 1000SX Ninja

Re: Wet weather KIt

Post by Kwacky »

What are you going to use it for, how often and what budget?

There's various levels of waterproof in my experience. Be careful when buying trousers. Some of the waterproof ones aren't, they just have a waterproof lining so the outer layer gets soaked.

Alpinestar stuff is waterproof but I've had issues with zips. However I do about 10,000 miles a year in my gear and I wear it all year round

I was disappointed with Rukka. Klim is very high quality.
fidget

Post by fidget »

it'll be used from Oct-Feb/March just for fun, not commuting etc. Still be 2-3000 miles i reckon.

Budget, i reckon 400-500 for a set
Blade
Your Bike: Kawasaki ZX10R

Post by Blade »

Hein Gericke had a sale on winter textiles last week. Might still be on.
fidget

Post by fidget »

cheers, never heard a lot of good reports on their stuff, mainly was ok for a winter.
Kwacky
Your Bike: Brutale 800RR, 1000SX Ninja

Post by Kwacky »

HG stuff is pretty good but it's not the best at keeping the water out. It does last for years though. Most people wash it in waterproofing treatment but that means you end up with a sweaty jacket. Goretex is king.

Held and IXS are good brands but they're not cheap. I've heard mixed reports about RST stuff.